A Trucker’s Home


I’m 42 years old and The Evil Overlord has been 29 for several years now. We live with her parents. How pathetic is that? Well, according to many of the truckers I’ve spoken with, it’s not pathetic at all. Well, at least it’s not that uncommon anyway.

I was reminded of this again yesterday when my company asked me to pick up a driver whose truck had broken down. He needed a lift home and they needed me to rescue him and the load he had been hauling. I’d be willing to bet that they were more concerned with the load than the driver. Carriers are “family-oriented” like that.

I knew immediately that Clint was a non-smoker. If he had been a puffer, all his stuff would’ve smelled like smoke and it would have taken a week or two to fumigate my truck after the 4.5 hour trip to his house. I did, however, put my foot down when he tried to bring his 13-gallon trash can into my cab. That would be the one that was caked with Skoal spit. *shudders* I was also grateful to discover that he wasn’t one of those annoying drivers. That would have made it seem like an 8-hour trip.

As we talked (and no, I didn’t do all the talking), I discovered that Clint was an avid sportsman who loved hunting and fishing. Well, there’s two things right off the bat that we don’t have in common. I’m certain that I don’t have the skill to shoot a fish or cast far enough to snag a deer.

As the conversation progressed, I discovered that he was a 41-year-old single guy who had never been married. After serving a couple of terms in the Navy, he got his CDL (Commercial Drivers License) and moved home with his dad. His father had recently passed away after a nightmare called Alzheimer’s disease.

I asked him if he had moved in with his dad because of the Alzheimer’s, to which he said, “No. He got that years later. I drive a truck. I’m never home. What the hell do I need a house for?”

Good point. While it may be pathetic for most grown adults to live with their parents, I believe that truckers might be one of the exceptions. People with special needs such as physical or mental disabilities would be understandable too. Now that I think of it, a lot of truckers might qualify for the mental side of that.

After The Evil Overlord and I got married, we moved to Dallas where I attended The Art Institute. During that time, we rented an apartment and suffered through life as most poor, uneducated, newlyweds do. They were some of the best years of our lives. Doesn’t everybody say that?

After graduation, we came back to Missouri and moved in with her parents until we could get our lives in order. We got into trucking after discovering that my degree was a worthless as a bartender at a lemonade stand.

As truckers, we stayed out on the road for 3 weeks at a time. Many drivers stay out much longer than that. When we did get home, we were only there for 3-4 days at a time, so we never really saw the need to get a place of our own. Her parents were happy to see us when we got home and they had an extra room to spare, so what the heck?

Years later, we got the itch to own a home. Since we were making good money, we thought we’d build a house that we could enjoy when we finally quit trucking and came off the road. We built that beautiful house, but there was one big honkin’ problem. We didn’t see any immediate end to our trucking careers.

I’ve got to tell you, it really sucked paying a large mortgage payment on a place that seemed to only be good for doing your laundry when you came off the road. It didn’t take long before we sold it and moved back in with her parents.

Fast forward to present day. The Evil Overlord is no longer driving. She quit for a while, then came back for a year-and-a-half, then quit again. Fickle woman. This time it’s for good though. Now she’s back at school and living with her parents while I’m out here on the road. And that is why we’ve put a deposit down on one-half of a brand new rental duplex.

Parents are fine. Actually, they’re more than fine. Without those two people feeling frisky at least once in their lives, you wouldn’t even exist. We should all thank them for doing the nasty for us. Still, they aren’t someone you want to live with for the rest of your lives. That’s why the Bible says to “leave your parents and cleave to your spouse.” God knew even back then that your parents would eventually drive you bonkers.

After The Evil Overlord put the deposit down on the place, she gleefully called me up to ask me if I was excited. I was less than enthused and she was perplexed. I explained that, while I understood her giddiness, I was still out here on the road for 3 weeks at a pop. She was happy to be getting some personal space and that was understandable. Since I’m rarely home, all it does for me is make her happy. And after all, I guess that’s part of a husband’s job. I’m sure I’ll enjoy getting back to the way it all began. It’ll be just me and The Evil Overlord again. And those pesky nephews, I guess. Unfortunately, my glee will only last for 30-40 hours a month.

My point is this. You’ve got good reason to raise your eyebrows when you meet a grown adult who still lives with his/her parents, but if you find out that person is a trucker, give them some slack. Would you want to spend a good chunk of your monthly income to own a home or maintain an apartment that you rarely get to visit?

*Please leave a comment with your thoughts on this subject. And if you’re feeling particularly nice, go up to the top of the post and give it a star rating. Thanks.*

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

17 Responses to “A Trucker’s Home”

  1. njkatwoman Says:

    I just came back on the road last Feb of 2010. Up until that point, I drove mostly local for 13 years. So yes, having a place to call “home” was and is still important to me. I have 6 cats…I am totally owned by them. I do this dastardly, stressful job to keep a roof over their heads. And I’m a “stuff” person. Instruments, crafting materials, yarns, collectibles also occupy this place that I rent, that I get to see maybe four days out of a month.
    I wish I owned my own house. Had I not loaned the ex-husband more than $20,000 that I will never see again, or had I not pulled out my 401K in a panic when I lost my job back in 2004, I may have had the money for a nice down payment. But at least I have a place to call home. Congratulations on becoming home owners! Your home will build equity, and hopefully be your safe haven, your refuge, when you are old enough to retire. And if your health fails as you grow elderly, the sale of that home will pay your nursing home bills for a few years.
    You can have as many pets as you wish when you own your own home.
    You can paint the house purple with a yellow porch. You may have a mortgage payment, but you will also have the freedom to decorate, expand, and express your creativity in this home. You are blessed!
    With home prices being so depressed right now, I hope you got one helluva great deal on her. 😀

    • Todd McCann Says:

      I understand the logic to owning a home, and I know it’s a great time to buy. However, the deposit we put down was on a rental unit. Both of us will be in school soon and if things go as planned, we will be in 4 different schools in 4 different cities. So you can see why buying is not a good option right now. Sad, because I’m sure there’s some sweet deals right now.

      Thanks for posting all those great reasons to own a home. And yes, cat ownership is one of my favorite reasons. But two is the max for us.

      And if I ever paint my house purple and yellow, I’d hope someone has the decency to put a match to the gas line.

      • Lisa Nowak Says:

        Cat ownership. Now that would be tough in a truck. I can just see you with about thirty of ’em in the cab, and every time you stopped to fuel up they’d start spilling out the doors. You’d look like the crazy cat lady on The Simpsons.

        • Todd McCann Says:

          If I thought I’d be trucking for the rest of my life, I’d definitely get a kitten so that it could get accustomed to the truck. I think having a companion on board would make the trucking life more tolerable.

  2. altonwoods Says:

    Hey Todd! As an “ex” driver I can definitely relate to what you’re saying. I’ve been off the road since 07/07/07 (my lucky day!) Truckin is a tough way to make a living even under the best of conditions which sadly most drivers do not enjoy, pay,loads,etc…Take Care, I’d like to subscribe to your blog!

    • Todd McCann Says:

      I believe I got an email saying that your desire to subscribe was a success. Thanks for that!

      Always glad to have experienced truckers aboard. Their comments either lead creedance to what I’ve written, or keep me in line when I’m wrong about something. Love having the input either way!

  3. helmetorheels Says:

    Nice to hear you and the Mrs are getting a place of your own. Another post worth reading!

  4. fltruckerwife Says:

    Oh yay!! How exciting for your wife! 🙂

    We hope to move out of this rental soon. We want to get land so we (read: I) can raise chickens and goats. While I do agree with the first poster that now is a great time to buy, it’s not a great time for everyone. We are so apprehensive about gaining a mortgage. Sure we will gain a house, but we will gain the expenses along with it. Good luck in the new place!

    • Todd McCann Says:

      Thanks. I agree. With both of us going to school eventually, I’m not convinced buying a house is a smart thing. Especially since we aren’t sure which college is going to accept me.

  5. Ronman Says:

    Trucking is a strange beast for sure. Those of us that get it into our blood have a difficult time doing anything else. I feel you are wise to not buy seeing as you aren’t sure where you’ll be going to school. Owning a home isn’t a good thing if you aren’t going to be there to enjoy it. In time you’ll know where the two of you want to settle down. Then it will be a good time to own a home.

    Ronman

  6. Bob Kelson Says:

    Thanks for your great stories. Look forward to reading more of them.

  7. Chris Says:

    Entertaining as always. And my point exactly about the house. Although Tammy doesn’t agree with me. I stay with her at her parents place when we happen 2 b home for3-4 days a month

    • Todd McCann Says:

      I hear you, Chris. Seems to me if a person wanted to buy a home while driving a truck, it’d be smarter to take what you would be paying on your mortgage and sock into a savings account. Why spend the extra money on utilities, insurance, and property taxes if you’re rarely going to be there? Thanks for the comment. We men are usually right. 😉

  8. Home Sweet In-Laws — The Good Men Project Says:

    […] Originally appeared at About Trucking Jobs […]

Leave a comment